book review · books · bookshelf · fiction · literacy · ya · young adult

Dreamology

Author: Lucy Keating
Warnings: Death of a sibling, parental separation.

‘For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Max is the boy of her dreams – and only her dreams. Until the morning she finds him sitting next to her in class, very much alive.
As Alice and Max get to know each other all over again, Alice learns that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max. He’s complicated and stubborn and has a whole life Alice isn’t a part of.
When their dreams start interfering with their waking hours, Alice and Max have to find a way to make them stop. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?’

I’m not going to say that I bought this for the cover.

But I bought this for the cover.

73e6676153bf57a23774265d48f2fc1f

You’re not allowed to judge me, the cover is beautiful. So I bought this on Amazon without reading what it was about, but I had heard other reviews saying that other people had enjoyed it.

Once I started it, I ended up really liking the premise – and the unexplained sciencey bits in between, even though every time they talked about dreams it felt like I was doing Psychology revision. (Picture me, sitting at a table and shouting “FREUD!” whenever they talked about the meaning of dreams.) The romance didn’t really have a build up, because they’re already in love, but it was dealt with really well by Lucy Keating to still make their relationship seem new.

I liked the characters, even though they could have had a bit more depth. I think Celeste was my favourite – she just seemed to handle things in a more realistic way (or maybe just how I would have reacted). I was really sad that her character arc wasn’t really tied up properly because she was a secondary character.

73e6676153bf57a23774265d48f2fc1f

Some of the other characters I liked less – I found Alice a likeable character, but some of the things that she did made me cringe. And the way that all of the characters simply accepted that “Yes they’re connected through dreams this is real and ok” straight away confused me. I’d question it a little. I also think Max is a bit trashy for cheating on his girlfriend so easily and again, there’s a lack of questioning. WTF, Max?

Although the romance in this book is cute and all, bits of the science seemed off to me (not only the fact that it’s fake shh). I’ve just demonstrated how quick I am to question literally everything, so I found this a good don’t-ask-questions-just-accept-it kind of book.

But the cover though.

5/10
-ABG

Leave a Reply

