book recommendations · book review · books · fiction · ya · young adult

The Hate U Give

Warnings: gang activity, character death, swearing, racial slurs.
Author: Angie Thomas

“What’s the point of having a voice if you’re gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn’t be?”
Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds; the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.’

AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!

First of all, thank you to abookandbeyond for giving me a copy of this book, I’m now indebted to you for eternity. But this book. Omg.

THE CHARACTERSSSS! Starr is so nice and good and I feel sorry for her because of everything she has to go through. The whole way through the book I felt connected to her but also helpless because I couldn’t do anything. Also her family was so pure? She literally calls her parents her OTP and that’s goals right there. Her brothers were great and now I wish my brother wasn’t so gross.
The secondary characters (Chris, her boyfriend, and Maya, her friend) kind of faded into the background until later in the book, but when they turned up I enjoyed them. Don’t even get me started on Hailey though (ugh). I wanted to cry every time she started talking.

The plotline was overall, great. There weren’t any moments where I got bored with reading, I was just constantly stuck in. (I finished it in 2 days. What is revision? Can I read instead of doing GCSEs? All important questions.) And the message it imparts is so important too, I love hearing other people’s opinions on matters like this.

Everything about this made me so emotional though. When Khalil came up, I got so angry about the assumptions made about him and his life that I had to stop reading and take a breather (I’m dramatic, I know). I teared up a few times, I’m not afraid to admit it.

I also feel like I got Starr’s struggle with the home life vs school life thing, too. I’m starting school at a private school next year, and I’m almost ashamed to say it because I’m afraid people with judge me for it??? I don’t know. But that gave me another layer of connection to Starr and made me really just want to be friends with her.

I can’t think of anything bad to say about this book, honestly. I just thought it was amazing, and bringing awareness to an issue that my brother doesn’t even take seriously.

10/10
-ABG

2 thoughts on “The Hate U Give

  1. My copy arrived a few weeks ago and I haven’t read it yet I think just because my expectations are really high. But everyone seems to be loving it — I’ll be picking it up likely after I’m done with my current read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

