book review · books · fiction

The Idea Of You

Warnings: miscarriage, swearing, teen pregnancy.
Author: Amanda Prowse
Release Date: March 21st, 2017

51cg7okjaul-_sy346_

‘With her fortieth birthday approaching, Lucy Carpenter dares to hope that she finally has it all: a wonderful new husband, Jonah, a successful career and the chance of a precious baby of her own. Life couldn’t be more perfect.
But the reality of becoming parents proves much harder than Lucy and Jonah imagined. Jonah’s own love and support is unquestioning, but as Lucy struggles with work and her own failing dreams, the strain on their marriage increases. Suddenly it feels like Lucy is close to losing everything.’

I got pre-approved for this book on NetGalley (I was the most surprised of everyone). When I first started reading, I was a bit skeptical. I felt like a book about a forty year old woman wasn’t really being aimed at teen girls, and I don’t usually go for the slice-of-life format, unless it’s in gooey contemporaries. But through my doubts, I ended up liking this book.

I did feel like I just coasted through this book, I was reading and enjoying it but didn’t feel particularly immersed. HOWEVER! There’s a twist near the end of the book that I saw coming, but it still made me a lot more interested in the last chapters in the book. I didn’t really connect fully with the characters through most of the book, but the end did make me tear up a little bit. I thought the idea was really sweet, and it made the whole book have a kind of angsty, bittersweet feel. Because I was reading on my Kindle I couldn’t really judge how long the book was, but I managed to speed-read this in a day so it can’t be that long.

I found that apart from the major characters (Lucy, Jonah and Camille), you don’t really get to know the rest of the characters and it just focuses on their family dynamic. This might be the reason that I found this book a bit hard to get into – Lucy had no life outside of her marriage, so I didn’t connect with her very easily. The ways I connect with her were through her hobbies, kind of like Camille (a teen like me) formed a relationship with her. But even though I wanted to feel a Teen camaraderie with Camille, I found her a bit bleh. She was a stereotypical moody teenage character that writers who aren’t teens like to portray. I did like Lucy’s family though – they were in a few scenes so didn’t get a load of development, but they seemed nice.

All in all, this seems like a book to read on a rainy afternoon when you’re feeling a bit sorry for yourself and want a good cry. I think my disconnect from it was simply because I don’t think I’m the target demographic, so if you’re a 30-40 year old woman who’s read this, please tell me what you thought.

6/10
-ABG

Leave a Reply

