book review · books · fiction · ya · young adult

I Was Here

Warnings: suicide, swearing, suicidal thoughts, encouraging suicide.
Author: Gayle Forman

9781471124396
I regret to inform you that I have had to take my own life. This decision has been a long time coming, and was mine alone to make. I know it will cause you pain, and for that I am sorry, but please know that I needed to end my own pain. This has nothing to do with you and everything to do with me. It’s not your fault. Meg
Cody and Meg were inseparable – best friends for life. They knew everything about each other. Or Cody thought they did. But how well do you ever really know your best friend? And what do you do when they choose to leave you behind?’

The cover of this book led me to believe that this would be a cute little contemporary that would be a girl led to knowing that her best friend’s suicide wasn’t her fault. This doesn’t even begin to describe this book – it’s SO INCREDIBLY DARK!

I found that the start of the book was quite slow starting – you get descriptions of the memorial services and Meg’s old roommates, but the story doesn’t really get anywhere for a while, so someone who wasn’t really invested in finding out about why Meg killed herself might have a hard time getting through the first few chapters.

I also didn’t really make a connection with Cody, the main character. Even though she seemed affected by Meg’s suicide, her reactions to other characters seemed very emotionless. She also didn’t have the openness that really relate you to a character, so I didn’t care about her as much as I could’ve done if she had been written differently.

On the other hand, the romance in this book was really well written. It didn’t feel forced, it seemed genuine. And although there were slow moments, the intrigue created throughout make me read on to the more interesting sections.

7/10
-abnormalbookgeek

Leave a Reply

