book review · books · bookshelf · fiction · literacy · ya · young adult

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Warnings: none
Author: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

harry_potter_and_the_cursed_child_special_rehearsal_edition_book_cover

The eighth story. Nineteen years later…

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.’

I have one question after reading the Cursed Child: WHERE IS GEORGE?!

I never expected to have any more Harry Potter on my book shelf, so after the initial rush I went and bought myself a copy. I don’t want to give away too much and ruin the story for anyone else, so this may be quite a brief review.

First of all, I liked the story. Nothing was given away easily, and the notes for the actors were extremely detailed and allowed the reader to see how the play would work onstage. I liked that it took into account the other characters and showed how the  events in the play would affect the whole wizarding world.

I thought Albus was a bit too teenager-y, but because his reasons were explained I overlooked that a bit. He was definitely a Potter – oblivious, jumps into things without thinking, needs quite a bit of help from his friends. That underlying Potter-ness is probably what endeared him to me. I was a bit put off by the lack of stage-time for his siblings though – I would’ve liked to see more of James and Lily than just in the first scene.

The only major criticism I have is the lack of characters. I was excited to see how all the (living) characters from the original books were getting on. I assume there’s not enough room for as many characters than in the films/books, but I wanted to check in with the Weasleys, see how George is coping, see Teddy (who’s Harry’s godson! Why isn’t he mentioned at all?) but the majority of onstage original characters are Harry, Ginny, Hermione, Ron, Draco and Professor McGonagall. Most of the story was centred around Albus, but it would still be nice to get some time with other characters.

7/10 for nostalgia
9/10 for story
-abnormalbookgeek

 

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

