book review · books · fiction · literacy · ya · young adult

The Dreamer

Warnings: swearing, mild sexual scenes.
Author: E. J. Mellow
Series: Dreamland

25309550

It’s night. Always night. Dreams guard against the evil forged by nightmares. Infinite shooting stars illuminate a moonless sky. A city stands alone, surrounded by a darkened field. On its fringes, a man watches one star separate from the masses and fall. What survives the crash will unveil a secret centuries long hidden.
Molly hasn’t slept well since the night of her twenty-fourth birthday. Being struck by lightning might have something to do with it, but then again, her chicken did look a little undercooked at dinner. Whatever the culprit, her life suddenly catapults from the mundane to insane as, night after night, Molly is transported through her once dreamless sleep to a mysterious land illuminated by shooting stars.
But Molly must ask herself – does something truly exist if you only see it when you close your eyes?
Faced with the threat of losing everything – her job, her best friend, boyfriend, and most importantly, that little thing called her sanity – Molly will learn just how far she’ll go to uncover what is real and what is merely a figment of her imagination.’

I’ve taken out a bit of the blurb because I thought it spoiled what I found one of the most exciting points of the book. If you want to read the whole blurb, go to the Goodreads page.

I only got this book because it was free on Amazon, so I didn’t read anything about it or know what I was getting into. I thought that made my enjoyment of the book heightened, because I knew as much as Molly, but I understand that people might have to read blurbs if they’re spending actual money on books.

This was a really interesting plotline and set-up for the rest of the series. It was a good story in itself and wasn’t completely devoted to preparing for the rest of the series, as some books do, but did set the stage nicely for the next book.

I liked Molly as a character, which was nice because some female leads are whiney and irritating. She was quirky, brave, but relatively normal, making me relate to her more. I also was in love with found Dev a really interesting, multi-layered character. Because of the questions Molly asks Dev about whats going on (and his lack of answers), those same questions are raised in the reader’s head as well.

The Dreamland is described in detail, allowing the reader to understand what Molly is seeing and how the people there may live.

9/10

Leave a comment