book review · books · fiction · literacy · ya · young adult

One

Warnings: swearing, drinking, smoking, mild ableism?
Author: Sarah Crossan

One Sarah Crossan.jpg

‘Grace and Tippi are twins – conjoined twins. And their lives are about to change.
No longer able to be homeschooled, they must venture into the world – a world of stares, sneers and cruelty. Will they find more than that at school? Can they find real friends? And what about love?
But what neither Grace nor Tippi realises is that a heart-wrenching decision lies ahead. A decision that could tear them apart. One that will change their lives  even more than they ever imagined…

I found that this was a really quick read that took me less than an afternoon to finish. That was mainly due to the fact that this entire book is told using verse, which made it very rhythmic and flowing. The quotes are gorgeous as well – my favourite being the one on the back cover:
Here we are.
And we are living.
Isn’t that amazing?
How we manage
To be
At all.

This is an absolutely gorgeously written book that had me so enthralled that I almost missed my bus. Grace had a very distinct voice in my head, and the prose had such a beautiful lilt to it that I was really emotional almost the whole way through. Grace, Tippi, their family and friends were very in focus during the book, but the minor characters felt blurred out – normally I wouldn’t like this, but I read into the symbolism here and felt like it was showing how Grace has learned to block out the people who would judge or mock her.

I don’t really know what to say – this hit me hard and there’s no words that I feel do it justice. I’m so impressed by the conjoined twins that have managed to make it as far as Grace and Tippi without showing that the constant stares are hurting them or making them feel in any way lesser to anyone else. It shows the importance of family, and how a boy can never overthrow a sister. It shows that no matter what decision you make, someone will be there to support you.

10/10
-abnormalbookgeek

 

One thought on “One

Leave a Reply

