book review · books · fiction · Uncategorized

Knights of the Borrowed Dark

Warnings: brief mentions of death, losing parents, mild violence.
Author: Dave Rudden
Series: Knights of the Borrowed Dark

cover-jpg-rendition-460-707

‘Grey placed his finger in the middle of the shadow. ‘What’s this?’ he asked. Denizen frowned. ‘It’s a shadow.’ ‘No, it isn’t,’ Grey said. ‘It’s a door.’
Denizen Hardwick doesn’t believe in magic – until he’s ambushed by a monster created from shadows and sees it destroyed by a word made of sunlight. That kind of thing can really change your perspective. Now Denizen is about to discover that there’s a world beyond the one he knows. A world of living darkness where an unseen enemy awaits. Fortunately for humanity, between us and the shadows stand the Knights of the Borrowed Dark. Unfortunately for Denizen, he’s one of them . . .’

(I got this book through NetGalley a few weeks, but it had already been released.)

I LOVE (love) adventure fantasy books like this one. It gave me a kind of Rick Riordan vibe, and because I love Uncle Rick, I was very open to this book. And now I want to do some super intense fan-art for it as well

This book seemed like a set up for the rest of the series – but it was really well written so it was a set up I could really get into. It felt like the reader and Denizen were going through a journey together, as you don’t ever know more than he does, and unless you’re some sort of super-soldier, you probably have as much weapons knowledge as Denizen does. You learn things about the Order, the shadow-monsters, the powers that the Knights have – it’s all very surreal and makes you wish that you had the same powers they did.

I found Denizen relatable, because I too have a frown for every occasion. His emotions are displayed relatively easily, so there’s no  guess work to do with the character – there’s just a lot of action. There also weren’t too many unnecessary background characters so each of the important ones had a lot of detail that may have been lost with the addition of minor characters. That also helps me make a connection to each of the characters and feel more involved in the story.

I’d say this book is perfect for tweens/childish teens like me. There’s not a lot of super-heavy stuff, so although there are mild mentions of death, it’s not as soul-destroying as in many YA novels (I’m looking at you, John Green). The ending felt like it wrapped everything up quite nicely, so I’m looking forward to seeing how Rudden carries on the series. All in all, I enjoyed this book extremely and I’m super excited to read the next book in the series.

9.5/10
-abnormalbookgeek

 

Leave a Reply

