book review · books · fiction · ya · young adult

The Girl of Ink and Stars

Warnings: none.
Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave

9781910002742

‘Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the faraway lands her father once mapped. When her best friend disappears, she’s determined to be part of the search party. Guided by an ancient map and her knowledge of the stars, Isabella navigates the dangerous Forbidden Territories. But beneath the dry rivers and dead forests, a fiery myth is stirring from its sleep.’

This is the first book from my summer TBR list that I’ve read, and I’ve started off on a high note if I do say so myself. Although I wouldn’t classify it as  a YA novel like BuzzFeed Books did, I did enjoy this more than I hoped I would. I’ve been really disappointed with my most recent reads so this was a really nice change.

I loved Isabella’s character. I feel like she was written in every situation perfectly, because she was young but had to be strong for her father and so felt like she had to be just as strong in everything she was thrown into. And, as with many books I read with younger main characters, I just wanted to hug her and protect her and keep everything evil away from her. (I’m pretty sure she was 12. I’m only 3 years older than her but my younger brother is 12 so I can just blame it on my sisterly instincts.)

I also loved the use of myths and stories in this book – it made the island have so much more of a history and let the reader understand what was going on. I’d be happy with just a book of the myths from Joya because they’re just SO COOL.

There were a loot of emotions in this book as well. it takes a lot for me to cry at a book (*cough cough* Me Before You *cough*) so I didn’t cry at this, but it did certainly hit me hard.

9.5/10 (-0.5 because of lack of development in certain characters)
-abnormalbookgeek

P.S.A: I MADE A INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT! I’ve had it for almost  a month now, so if you want daily book posts and general nerdiness, go find me on there! (@abnormalbookgeek)

Leave a Reply

