book review · books · fiction · ya · young adult

If You Find Me

Warnings: swearing, rape, sexual assault, abduction.
Author: Emily Murdoch

if-you-find-me-paperback

‘CAREY IS KEEPING A TERRIBLE SECRET. IF SHE TELLS, IT COULD DESTROY HER FUTURE. IF SHE DOESN’T, WILL SHE EVER BE FREE?

For almost as long as she can remember, Carey has lived in the heart of the woods with her drug-addicted mother and six-year-old sister, Jenessa.

Their mother routinely disappears for weeks at a time, leaving the girls to cope alone. Survival is Carey’s only priority – until strangers arrive and everything changes.

I can’t even think of anything to write, this book was so good. I picked it up in the library when I couldn’t find the books that I went for. I’m so glad I couldn’t find it.

The pretense is really unique, and although there was as much being-left-alone-in-the-woods as I thought there would be. The reintegration of the adorable backwoods rednecks was so sweet and surprisingly there wasn’t too much awkward forced romance, which was a change.

I loved the character of Carey, she was the kind of person I just wanted to  protect (which is something I say a lot, I’ll end up with an army of book characters I have to take care of) and leT HER HAVE A CHILDHOOD GODDAMMIT. Jenessa was so cute as well, she was incredibly well-developed for such a young character.

The mystery that was interlaced through the whole book was very well done too, literally nothing is revealed until Murdoch wants it to be. I was getting more and more annoyed as it went on because I just wanted to know what the white-star night was, but the reveal was so good.

When I first started reading this I didn’t really know whether it was YA (because Carey is 14-15) or something aimed at tweens, but it is a YA novel towards the end, and was a extremely well written book.

8/10
-abnormalbookgeek

One thought on “If You Find Me

Leave a Reply

