book review · books · fiction · literacy

The Enemy

Warnings: mild cursing, gore, violent scenes.
Author: Charlie Higson

theenemy

When the sickness came, every parent, police officer, politician – every adult fell ill. The lucky ones died. The others are crazed,confused and hungry.
Only children under fourteen remain, and they’re fighting to survive.
Now there are rumours of a safe place to hide. And so a gang of children begin their quest across London, where all through the city – down alleyways, in deserted houses, underground – the grown-ups lie in wait.
But can they make it there – alive?

So… I’d be dead in this universe. Which is a bummer, because I think I’d be a pretty good survivalist in a zombie apocalypse.

I loved this book, even as someone that isn’t a frequent reader of zombie books. It’s kind of like a combination of Lord of the Flies and the Walking Dead, which was cool. Plus I’ve always said that the world would be better if it was run by kids (which is true through most of this book. Except for David. David is a prick.)  Character-wise, this was a great read. My favourite was probably Maxie, the feminist icon of the zombie apocalypse.

This is also TERRIFYING. I had to stop sometimes and stare into space until I gathered up the courage to keep reading. I enjoy reading scary stuff, but still – cannibalistic, disgusting-looking zombies are enough to make anyone feel a bit spooked.

The way that the chapters flickered between the group of kids from Waitrose and Small Sam was skillfully done, and I felt connected to Sam because the reader gets the most one-on-one time with him. Also I love Blue send help for me.

8.5/10
-abnormalbookgeek

Leave a Reply

