book review · books · fiction · literacy · Uncategorized

Extraordinary Means

Warnings: mild bullying, swearing, death, sexual themes.
Author: Robyn Schneider

extraordinary-means-9781471115486_hr

First of all, the cover is absolutely gorgeous – that was what initially made me want to get this book. Then I read the blurb, and it all felt a bit ‘The Fault In Our Stars’, which I enjoyed, but don’t want to read another version of. I was wrong. This book is similar to TFIOS only because of the disease – the book itself is full of unique characters who, most of the time, aren’t complaining about their incurable illness.

I LOVED the characters. They were all so perfectly imperfect, and there was ethnic diversity as well, which is found more in books these days but is still pretty difficult to get. I felt like I really got to know each of the characters, not just the main two with some friends on the side that you kind of hear about but not really.

The chapters skip between Lane and Sadie, and does it well. Some authors make the transition between characters awkward and clunky, but i thought that this was perfectly timed, written and yet still showed distinction between them.

All in all, I found this book compelling and well written. I probably accidentally recommended it to the elderly lady who asked me what I was reading, as well.

10/10
– abnormalbookgeek

Leave a Reply

