book recommendations · book review · books · fiction · psychological thriller

Pretty Girl – 13

Warnings: kidnapping, violence, sexual themes, swearing, rape, molestation.
Author: Liz Coley

13450398

‘When thirteen-year-old Angela Gracie Chapman looks in the mirror, someone else looks back — a thin, pale stranger, a sixteen-year-old with haunted eyes. Angie has no memory of the past three years, years in which she was lost to the authorities, lost to her family and friends, lost even to herself. Where has she been, who has been living her life, and what is hiding behind the terrible blackness? There are secrets you can’t even tell yourself.

With a tremendous amount of courage and support from unexpected friends, Angie embarks on a journey into the darkest corners of her mind. As she unearths more and more about her past, she discovers a terrifying secret and must decide when you remember things you wish you could forget, do you destroy the people responsible, or is there another way to feel whole again?’

And yet again, I LOVE IT WHEN PEOPLE GIVE ME THEIR FAVOURITE BOOKS! I got on Thursday and finished it in about two hours – it’s really good. As a student studying Psychology at GCSE, I was already hooked when I learned it was a psychological thriller, and even more excited when a review said it was disturbing – but in a good way.

One of the things that I thought was amazing was the way the characters are portrayed – there were characters I thought I was going to like that I ended up hating, and there were characters I thought I was going to hate that I ended up loving.

I also really enjoyed the swapping between third and second person within the chapters, and the letters that Angie gets in the middle chapters of the book. It’s hard to say much without giving anything away, but this was a part of the book that I found fascinating and really gives the reader an insight into the characters’ minds.

There is nothing bad that I have to say about this book. I adored it cover to cover, liked the characters, liked the descriptions of what had happened and what was happening, I liked it all.

10/10

-abnormalbookgeek

 

Leave a Reply

