book recommendations · book review · books · fiction

The Life List

Warnings: sexual references, sexual themes, cursing.
Author: Lori Nelson Spielman

51guiddy3rl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

THINGS TO DO WHEN I GROW UP:
1. HAVE A BABY
2. FALL IN LOVE
3. PERFORM LIVE ON A SUPER-BIG STAGE
Brett Bohlinger seems to have it all: a plum job, a beautiful home and an irresistibly handsome boyfriend. That is, until her beloved mother passes away leaving behind a will with one big stipulation: in order to receive her inheritance, Brett must first complete the list of life goals she’d written when she was fourteen.

As Brett reluctantly embarks on a perplexing journey in search of her adolescent dreams, one thing becomes clear: sometimes life’s sweetest gifts can be found in the most unexpected places.’

One of my favourite things about Christmas is my friends giving me the books they really enjoy. In this case, I’m glad all of my friends know I love books. This was one of the most emotional books I’ve read since The Fault In Our Stars, and I loved it. I started this book Monday lunchtime and had finished it by Tuesday morning.

As someone who has been repeatedly affected by cancer, the premise of this book really resonated to me. Even though the reader never directly reads about the mother in the present, as the book starts with her funeral, the letters that she left for her daughter lets the reader still have a connection to the character, which I really enjoyed.

As well as this, the fact that the main character and reader go through the life list together made me have a deeper interest in the story, as you see Brett develop as a person, and through this, I felt good too. (Even though there were some awkward PDA moments).

BUT

I found that I could predict most of the plot. I can’t count on one hand how many times I whispered ‘I knew it’ under my breath while reading. Although I liked this, it did slightly ruin the immersion when I was stopping at certain important plot point and doing the Snoopy dance in excitement.

9/10 (If you think you’re ready for the tears)

-abnormalbookgeek

One thought on “The Life List

Leave a Reply

