book review · books · fiction

City of Glass

Warnings: None
Book 3 in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

Amid the chaos of war, the Shadowhunters must decide to fight with the vampires, werewolves and other Downworlders – or against them. Meanwhile, Jace and Clary have their own decision to make: should they pursue the love they know is forbidden?

First of all, I feel I must make a public service announcement. GO IN MORE SMALL BOOKSHOPS! I got this copy of City of Glass, brand new, at £3.99 and it would’ve cost me £7.99 to buy it in a large bookshop. (The shop was Superbooks on the Lyndhurst high street if anyone lives near there :))

Anyway, on with the review!

Overall I did enjoy this installment in the Mortal Instruments series, it’s dramatic and flashy, with new characters and development into the old characters. Clare’s writing really brings her creatures to life, and the characters are well explained in their actions. Also Alec and Magnus are adorable and I actually can’t k.

BUT

I found the last line pretty cool, as a Supernatural fan. (…in streaking lines of golden fire, like angels falling from the sky.) However, on the page RIGHT AFTER this line, was the words ‘Read on from an extract from the fourth book, CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS‘.

HMM. I WONDER WHAT WILL POSSIBLY HAPPEN IN THE NEXT BOOK. THE ANTICIPATION OF NOT KNOWING IS WONDROUS.

Can you tell that annoyed me? Maybe.

Also, there was a lot of fighting in this book. Which I liked, until it started to get a bit repetitious.

Altogether though, this was a pretty good book that I enjoyed reading.

7/10 stars

– abnormalboogeek

Leave a Reply

