book review · books · fiction

Rogue

Warnings for this book: Swearing.

Deserter.
Traitor.
Rogue.
Ember Hill left the dragon society Talon to join rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues. But Ember can’t forget the sacrifice made for her by Garrett, the human soldier who saved her from an assassin and doomed himself.
Determined to save Garrett from execution, Ember must convince Cobalt to help her break into the headquarters of mysterious dragonslayers the Order of St. George. With assassins after them and Ember’s own brother helping Talon with the hunt, a reckoning is brewing. The secrets hidden by both sides are shocking and deadly.
Soon Ember must decide: should she retreat to fight another day… Or start an all-out war?

I really enjoyed the first book in this series (Find my review here: Talon) so I was super excited to sink my teeth into this installment of the Talon series. And Cobalt is still my favourite.

To be honest I felt like this was a set up for the next book in the series, but I still liked it. The interaction between the characters makes me very happy and I ship Ember and Garrett so much don’t judge me.

Kagawa’s action scenes are so well put together, the reader can perfectly envision what’s going on, and trust me when I say there are quite a few action scenes in this book.

Unfortunately one of my favourite things from the first book was lost in this one – the dragons interacting with normal humans not affiliated with Talon or the Order, and the tension that came with that. I felt that in the first book, that was what kept me reading at some points.

But overall I still absolutely love this series so far, and I’m so excited for the next book to come out!

8/10

– abnormalbookgeek

Leave a Reply

