book review

Crown of Midnight

Crowned by evil.
Bound by duty.
Divided by love.

Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the King of Adarlan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies’ blood – but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, puts those she loves at risk.

Torn between her two protectors – a captain and a prince – and battling a dark force far greater than the king,Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of a kingdom…’

Crown of Midnight is the second book in the Throne of Glass series, by Sarah J. Maas. I read the first book a while ago and really enjoyed it, so I was ecstatic to be lent this book by a friend of mine. Once I started reading, however, I discovered that it takes so long to get into the good bits of the plot. The first few chapters do set up the rest of the book well, but I just think that some of it is a bit unnecessary.

But however slow the first chapters may be, I can’t deny that after that I couldn’t put the book down. For hours, I would live vicariously through Celaena – and when she FINALLY got together with the character I ship her with (no spoilers) I had a squealing fit because they just belong together.

I adore Celaena as a character, but one thing bothers me about her. She was trained as an assassin, but she seems to wear her heart on her sleeve in every situation. I haven’t personally been trained as an assassin, but aren’t they supposed to be emotionless? I don’t know if this ticks off anyone else. It’s probably just me.

But overall, I loved this book and the series so far.

8/10

– abnormalbookgeek

Leave a Reply

